The Election is now open for four Councilor (board member) positions and one Student/Postdoc Representative on the Society for the Neurobiology of Language (SNL) Board of Directors.

To vote, Log In to your account and click “Vote in the 2017 Board of Directors Election”. You must be a current member to vote. If your membership is not current, you can renew it by clicking the “Renew” link on your account home page. If you do not have an SNL Account, please Create An Account.

Voting closes October 31, 2017.


Each year, four directors are elected: Chair Elect, Treasurer Elect, Secretary Elect and Program Committee Chair. Directors are elected for a three-year term. Responsibilities associated with these positions can be found in the bylaws.

This year, a new position has been added to the SNL Board, the Student/Postdoc Representative. More information about this position, can be found here.

The 2017 candidates were selected by an independent Nominating Committee from candidates nominated by SNL members.


Chair Elect

Manuel Carreiras, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language

Alec Marantz, New York University

Riitta Salmelin, Department of Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering, Aalto University

Treasurer Elect

Zarinah Agnew, University of California, San Francisco

Mairead MacSweeney, University College London

Secretary Elect

Brenda Rapp, Johns Hopkins University

Jo Taylor, Aston University

Stephen Wilson, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Program Committee Chair-elect

Marina Bedny, Johns Hopkins University

Marc Joanisse, The University of Western Ontario

Student/Postdoc Representative

Enes Avcu, University of Delaware

Angela Grant, Concordia University

Jet Vonk, Columbia University Medical Center

Current Board

CHAIR: Lorraine K. Tyler, University of Cambridge
TREASURER: Patti Adank, University College London
SECRETARY: Matt Davis, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge, UK
MEETING LIAISON: David Corina, University of California, Davis

CHAIR-ELECT: Karen Emmorey, San Diego State University
TREASURER-ELECT: James Magnuson, University of Connecticut
SECRETARY-ELECT: Clara D. Martin, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language (BCBL)
PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR-ELECT: Michal Ben-Shachar, Bar Ilan University

PAST CHAIR: Greig de Zubicaray, Queensland University of Technology
PAST TREASURER: Ina Bornkessel-Schlesewsky, University of South Australia
PAST SECRETARY: Liina Pylkkänen, New York University
PAST MEETING LIAISON: Jonathan Peelle, Washington University in St. Louis