The Election is now open for four Councilor (board member) positions on The Society of the Neurobiology of Language (SNL) Board of Directors.

You must be a current 2017 member to vote in the election. If you do not yet have an SNL Account, please Create An Account. If you already have an SNL Account, please Log In to vote.


Each year, four directors are elected, one each as Chair Elect, Treasurer Elect, Secretary Elect and Meeting Liaison Elect. Directors are elected for a three-year term. Responsibilities associated with these positions can be found in the bylaws.

The candidates were selected by an independent Nominating Committee from candidates nominated by SNL members.


Chair Elect

Manuel Carreiras, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language

Alec Marantz,

Riitta Salmelin, Brain Research Unit, O.V. Lounasmaa Laboratory, Aalto University

Treasurer Elect

Zarinah Agnew, University of California, San Francisco

Mairead Macsweeney, University College London

Friedeman Pulvermueller, Freie Universität Berlin

Secretary Elect

Brenda Rapp, Johns Hopkins University

Jo Taylor, Aston University

Stephen Wilson, Vanderbilt

Program Committee Chair-elect

Marina Bedny, Johns Hopkins University

Marc Joanisse, The University of Western Ontario

Carolyn McGettigan, University of London

Student/Postdoc Representative

Enes Avc, University of Delaware

Angela Grant, Concordia University

Jet Vonk, Columbia University Medical School

Current Board

CHAIR: Lorraine K. Tyler, University of Cambridge
TREASURER: Patti Adank, University College London
SECRETARY: Matt Davis, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge, UK
MEETING LIAISON: David Corina, University of California, Davis

CHAIR-ELECT: Karen Emmorey, San Diego State University
TREASURER-ELECT: James Magnuson, University of Connecticut
SECRETARY-ELECT: Clara D. Martin, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language (BCBL)
PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR-ELECT: Michal Ben-Shachar, Bar Ilan University

PAST CHAIR: Greig de Zubicaray, Queensland University of Technology
PAST TREASURER: Ina Bornkessel-Schlesewsky, University of South Australia
PAST SECRETARY:  Liina Pylkkänen, New York University
PAST MEETING LIAISON: Jonathan Peelle, Washington University in St. Louis