Board of Directors Election

2020 Board of Directors Election

The Election is now open for four Councilor (board member) positions on the Society for the Neurobiology of Language (SNL) Board of Directors.

To vote, Log In to your account and click “Vote in the 2020 Board of Directors Election.” You must be a current member to vote. If your membership is not current, you may renew it by clicking the “Renew” link on your account home page. If you do not have an SNL Account, please Create An Account.

Voting closes on October 1, 2020.


Each year, four directors are elected: Chair-Elect, Treasurer-Elect, Secretary-Elect and Program Committee Chair-Elect. Directors are elected for a three-year term. Every two years, a Student/Postdoc Representative is elected to a two-year term. Responsibilities associated with all positions can be found in the bylaws.

The 2020 candidates were selected by an independent Nominating Committee from candidates nominated by SNL members.



Julius Fridriksson Center for the Study of Aphasia Recovery (C-STAR), University of South Carolina

Sharon Thompson-Schill Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Psychology, University of Pennsylvania


Jonathan R. Brennan Associate Professor of Linguistics & Psychology, University of Michigan

Ingrid Johnsrude Department of Psychology and School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Western Ontario

Saloni Krishnan Department of Psychology, Royal Holloway, University of London


Velia Cardin  Deafness Cognition and Language (DCAL) Research Centre & Department of Experimental Psychology, UCL London

Kristof Strijkers Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) & Aix-Marseille Université (AMU); Laboratoire Parole et Langage (LPL) & Institute of Language, Communication and the Brain (ILCB)

Patrick Wong Department of Linguistics and Brain and Mind Institute, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Program Committee Chair-Elect

Tali Bitan Department of Psychology, University of Haifa, Israel, and Department of Speech Pathology, University of Toronto, Canada

Michele T. Diaz Department of Psychology & the Social, Life, & Engineering Sciences Imaging Center, Pennsylvania State University

William Graves Department of Psychology, Rutgers University

Current Board

CHAIR: Sonja Kotz, Maastricht University
TREASURER: Seana Coulson, University of California, San Diego
SECRETARY: Jamie Reilly, Temple University
PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR: Emily Myers, University of Connecticut
STUDENT/POSTDOC REPRESENTATIVE: Esti Blanco-Elorrieta, New York University and Harvard University
2020 PUBLICATION OFFICER : Matt Davis, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge

CHAIR-ELECT: Matt Lambon Ralph, University of Cambridge
TREASURER-ELECT: Tamara Swaab, University of California, Davis
SECRETARY-ELECT: Evelina (Ev) Fedorenko, MIT
PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR-ELECT: Carolyn McGettigan, University College London

PAST CHAIR: Manuel Carreiras, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language (BCBL)
PAST TREASURER: Mairéad MacSweeney, University College London
PAST SECRETARY: Brenda Rapp, Johns Hopkins University
PAST PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR: Marina Bedny, Johns Hopkins University

SNL Account Login

Forgot Password?
Create an Account