The Election is now open for four Councilor (board member) positions on the Society for the Neurobiology of Language (SNL) Board of Directors.

To vote, Log In to your account and click “Vote in the 2018 Board of Directors Election.” You must be a current member to vote. If your membership is not current, you can renew it by clicking the “Renew” link on your account home page. If you do not have an SNL Account, please Create An Account.

Voting closes June 11, 2018.


Each year, four directors are elected: Chair Elect, Treasurer Elect, Secretary Elect and Program Committee Chair Elect. Directors are elected for a three-year term. Responsibilities associated with these positions can be found in the bylaws.

The 2018 candidates were selected by an independent Nominating Committee from candidates nominated by SNL members.


Chair Elect

Sonja Kotz Psychology and Neuroscience, Maastricht University
additional link:

F-Xavier Alario Aix-Marseille Université & CNRS

David Poeppel Department of Neuroscience, Max-Planck-Institute (MPIEA) and Department of Psychology, New York University
additional link:

Treasurer Elect

Katrien Segaert University of Birmingham

Seana Coulson University of California, San Diego

Jonathan R. Brennan Departments of Linguistics and Psychology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Secretary Elect

Thomas Hope Wellcome Centre for Human Neuroimaging, Institute of Neurology, University College London

Jamie Reilly Temple University, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Program Committee Chair Elect

Jonas Obleser University of Lübeck

Jeremy Skipper Experimental Psychology, University College London

Emily Myers Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, University of Connecticut

Current Board

CHAIR: Karen Emmorey, San Diego State University
TREASURER: James Magnuson, University of Connecticut
SECRETARY: Clara D. Martin, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language (BCBL)
PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR: Michal Ben-Shachar, Bar Ilan University

CHAIR-ELECT: Manuel Carreiras, Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language (BCBL)
TREASURER-ELECT: Mairéad MacSweeney, University College London
SECRETARY-ELECT: Brenda Rapp, Johns Hopkins University
PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR-ELECT: Marina Bedny, Johns Hopkins University

PAST CHAIR: Lorraine K. Tyler, University of Cambridge
PAST TREASURER: Patti Adank, University College London
PAST SECRETARY: Matt Davis, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge
PAST MEETING LIAISON: David Corina, University of California, Davis