You are viewing the ARCHIVED SNL 2018 website. For the latest information, see the Current Website.

Early Career Award

Sponsored by Brain and Language

The Society for the Neurobiology of Language is pleased to announce a new Early Career Award (ECA) to honor researchers whose high quality of scientific work and academic citizenship exemplify the ideals of the Society. Two ECAs will be awarded each year at the annual meeting. Recipients will be selected from among nominations put forward by membership.

Award Eligibility

To be eligible, an applicant must conduct research into the neurobiology of language, and have no more than 10 years of active research/teaching experience following completion of their PhD (not counting career interruptions).  If there was no break in active research/teaching, for the upcoming 2018 award, the degree must have been awarded in or after 2008.


Nominations must be made by a current SNL member, and will be reviewed by an Award Committee consisting of SNL members. Self-nominations are welcome. Members of the Award Committee and of the current SNL Board cannot serve as nominators.

The Award Committee will announce the winners approximately one month following the nomination deadline. The prizes will be presented at the annual SNL meeting, and will include an honorarium of $1000 for each recipient, generously provided by Brain and Language. The awardees will be invited to give presentations of their work at the annual meeting.

The nominations should include:

  • A CV
  • A short (500 word) description of the nominee’s contributions to the neurobiology of language
  • Two letters of recommendation (each no more than 2 pages long)

Nominees from previous years can be re-nominated, assuming the nominee is still eligible.

To nominate someone for the award please fill out the submission form with all required information prior to the deadline. If you experience any difficulties with the web form, please email

Award Schedule

Nominations Open: March 15, 2018
Nominations Close: April 26, 2018
Recipients Announced: June 5, 2018

Nominations for the Early Career Award have closed.